A Year in Review, 2010

24 Dec

It’s that time of year again folks. The time when snow and ice are plastered to our once green landscape, the bitter cold makes us regret even peering out the front door, and oh yeah, all the Christmas and New Years business. Anyway, I am the sentimental sort, as such, I enjoy reflecting upon my year when it is reaching it’s end. The music, the movies, the television and the experiences. So without further ado, this is my 2010 year in review!

In Music

2010 was an incredible year for music, here is my top 20 countdown of favorite albums:

1. The National- High Violet

2. Mumford & Sons- Sigh No More

3. Arcade Fire- The Suburbs

4. Kanye West- My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy

5. Black Keys- Brothers

6. Beach House- Teen Dream

7. The Walkmen- Lisbon

8. Foals- Total Life Forever

9. Kid Cudi- Man on the Moon II: The Legend of Mr. Rager

10. Frightened Rabbit- Winter of Mixed Drinks

11. The Gorillaz- Plastic Beach

12. Laura Marling- I Speak Because I Can

13. Vampire Weekend- Contra

14. Massive Attack- Heligoland

15. Interpol- Interpol

16. Band of Horses- Infinite Arms

17. Broken Social Scene- Forgiveness Rock Record

18. Tallest Man on Earth- The Wild Hunt

19. Spoon- Transference

20. LCD Soundsystem- This Is Happening

Books

Reading is my favorite past time, therefore it is only right that I share my favorite reads this year!

The Shadow of the Wind
This may possibly be one of the best books I have ever read. It combines romance with adventure, and ties it altogether with the ultimate theme of a profound love of books. The writing was witty and sophisticated, and the plot moved very quickly keeping me reading into the late hours of the night.

Rebecca
This book was obviously not released in 2010, however, I just discovered it this year. Once more I was drawn in by a beautiful love story, but pleasantly surprised by the intriguing tale of murder and deceit!

Television

Best Show of 2010:
True Blood
I can admit it to myself, I am obsessed with this show. I have read all the books, and I own all the DVDs, so I can safely say I eagerly anticipated it’s return this past summer. I was not disappointed. The past season was sexy, witty, scary and intriguing. The finale left much to be desired, however, I am fine with waiting another year for the conclusion of all the cliffhanging plots. For now, I will live off my DVDs and mental images of Eric.

Best New Show of 2010
Boardwalk Empire
This new show by HBO immediately grabbed my attention. It had a wonderful, historically relevant story, as well as amazing dialogue. I really loved the time period it was set in, and the performances by all acting parties was very well done. Overall a very promising new series by a network that never fails to please!

Movies
I wouldnt claim my list of favorite films this year to be Oscar worthy, however, I found them in all cases extremely entertaining.

1. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Pt. I

2. Toy Story 3

3. Get Him to the Greek

4. Hot Tub Time Machine

5. The Other Guys

Favorite Moments
There were many great moments for me throughout this year, but right here, right now, as I type this, these stand out the most.

The Shot
Being part of a buzzer beater three to sweep the #2 team in the nation.

The National Champions
Watching my favorite basketball team win the NCAA championship in an incredible game

The Best Live Show on Earth
Seeing my favorite band Muse, perform live. Twice.

Best Discoveries

Guitar
I discovered all that is guitar this summer and have been unable to look back since. I purchased a beautiful Seagull acoustic guitar and got on my way. Favorite song to play: “Sparks” by Coldplay.

Alcoholic Beverages
No, I haven’t just discovered alcohol this year, that would be weird. I have however discovered some new favorites.
Chat De Oeuf – This Rose wine is something special

Hoegarden – An enormous portion of amazing beer. And the name is not bad either

Dos Equis – This is the worlds more interesting beer

Well folks, that’s all I have for 2010. Hope you enjoyed the year and the first decade of the 21st century! Next stop, 2011.

Leave a Reply

