A Date With a Blonde: St. Ambroise Pale Ale

1 Apr

Brewed by:
McAuslan Brewing, Quebec

On Friday night my significant other took off to watch a bunch of sweaty men grapple each other into submission (MMA) leaving me to fend for myself for an evening. Of course this was no problem as I had magnificent single dinner plans (cheese on toast and salt and vinegar chips) and a nights worth of entertainment at my feet (Downton Abbey! Thank you BBC). Now, in my short 21 years, I have learned that nothing makes a single lady night with BBC and snacks like a good dose of liquor to keep oneself sufficiently entertained and content. On my way home I entered the nearest liquor proprietor and wandered around desperately seeking a delicious and satisfying beverage. The initial problem, beer, or wine. As I was craving something bubbly, I began wandering around the craft beers and came across the St. Ambroise selection. I have tried their Oatmeal Stout, which I must say is absolutely delicious and highly recommended. However, since it was my intention to indulge in more than one, I thought it best to choose something that resembled less of a brick inside of my stomach.

Alas! Next to the stout sat my new dear friend, the Pale Ale. At 14.99 for a 6-pack, the pricing does not differ from any of the other similar 6-pack varieties such as Wild Rose or Alley Kat.

So with that, I skipped merrily to my quaint lil ol basement bedroom and settled in to some fine BBC programming. Now, for the beer. I wont pretend to be a connoisseur, however, I will attempt to cover it’s fine characteristics.

Appearance- Clear, Cooper/Amber appearance in the glass. Little head.

Aroma- Sweet, fruity, slightly bitter

Taste- Initially quite sweet, followed by a lovely bitterness. Fruity with a great taste of hops (which I personally love). Also, had a nice carbonation.

Overall, this is a wonderful choice and value for those that love a hoppy ale. As suggested earlier, the Oatmeal Stout available from the same brewery is an excellent choice also. This is certainly a beer that could be drunk on a summer day, cold, crisp, and refreshing, yet it serves well as a nice complement to food. Have any suggestions of other beers or any questions, pop in a comment! More reviews coming soon, as I love an excuse to indulge in a brew!

Yeah, I enjoyed this, the proof is in the picture.

Leave a Reply

